Rules of Spell Chess

Spell ChessSpell Chess
2 Players
Ages 8+
15-45 minutes

Game Design: Doug Chadwick
Game Development: Doug Chadwick, Benj Hamilton
Graphic Design: Dan McCollum

54 Cards
1 Rules Booklet
Not Included: Chess Set

Shuffle the Spell Chess deck and place near the Chessboard where both players have access to it.

Begin Chess as normal. You can find the official rules for Chess here:
Whenever you capture an opponent’s piece, reveal the top card of the Spell Chess Deck. You choose to place the card in front of yourself or your opponent.
A player may only have 1 card in front of them at a time. If a card would be placed in front of a player with a card, the existing card is discarded.
The card in front of a player affects that player unless otherwise stated on the card.

Game Ending
The game ends when a player cannot legally move their King out of check, or if the game reaches a stalemate as defined in the official Chess rules.

Card Glossary
Threaten – a piece is threatened if it could be captured by an opponent’s piece on their next move. A piece is threatening another piece or board space if it is able to capture that piece, or a piece on that board space, on its next move. When a piece is threatening a king, that king is in check.

Normal Move – the normal move of a piece is its standard movement under the official rules of Chess.

Sideways – if a piece can move sideways, it can move to the left or right as many spaces as it could normally.

Starting Position – the starting position of a piece is any square on the board where a piece of that type and color could have begun the game. It does not necessarily have to be the exact space where that piece started the game.

Challenge Coin – a challenge coin is a metal disc that signifies a rank in the military, or a special engagement or event. A challenge is made by presenting a coin, and is answered by the other player presenting a coin. For the purposes of Spell Chess, an individual coin may only be presented once during the game.

Q: If I reveal a card and put it into play and it causes my opponent to be in check, are they still in check?
A: Yes, and you should announce it at that time as needed per the official Chess rules.

Q: If I reveal a card and put it into play and it causes me to be in check what happens?
A: You can’t put yourself into check per the official rules of Chess, therefore, you cannot play a card in such a way that it places you into check. If you reveal a card and cannot play it legally (so that you aren’t in check) the game ends in a stalemate.

Q: What if I reveal a card and do not want to play it on either player, can I discard it instead?
A: No, you must play the card in front of one of the players.

Q: If I remove a piece from the board, do I get to reveal a new card? What about if a card is discarded?
A: No, removing a piece from the board is not the same as capturing a piece. You may only reveal a new card when you capture a piece, or if a card tells you to.

Q: If a piece cannot be captured, may I still move my piece onto its space?
A: No, you may only move a piece to a space if that space will be unoccupied at the end of the move.